Best of Lists Miscellaneous

Announcing SpecFic ’12 Contributors and SpecFic ’13 Editors (That Would Be Us)

We have superb, cool, AWESOME news to share, everybody!

Announcing SpecFic ’12 Contributors

cover - speculative-fiction-2012

Speculative Fiction 2012: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary is a collection that celebrates the best in online SFF non-fiction – the top book reviews, essays and commentary in 2012.

This first volume, edited by bloggers Justin Landon (Staffer’s Musings – US) and Jared Shurin (Pornokitsch – UK), collects over fifty pieces from science fiction and fantasy’s top authors, bloggers and critics and will be published in April.

The list of contributors for SpecFic ’12 – as announced yesterday – is:

  • Joe Abercrombie
  • Daniel Abraham
  • Niall Alexander
  • Elizabeth Bear
  • Rob Berg
  • Liz Bourke
  • Maurice Broaddus
  • Myke Cole
  • Kate Elliott
  • Katherine Farmar
  • Chris Gerwel
  • Christopher Garcia
  • Daniel Goodman
  • Ana Grilo
  • Niall Harrison
  • Dan Hartland
  • Matt Hilliard
  • Kameron Hurley
  • Thea James
  • NK Jemisin
  • Paul Kincaid
  • Lady Business
  • Justin Landon
  • Rose Lemberg
  • Rochita Loenen-Ruiz
  • Cynthia Martinez
  • Tim Maughan
  • Foz Meadows
  • Jonathan McCalmont
  • Martin McGrath
  • Aidan Moher
  • Ken Neth
  • Larry Nolen
  • Abigail Nussbaum
  • Christopher Priest
  • Stefan Raets
  • Adam Roberts
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • CS Samulski
  • Penny Schenk
  • Jared Shurin
  • Ro Smith
  • Maureen K. Speller
  • Aishwarya Subramaniam
  • Matthew Surridge
  • Sam Sykes
  • Gav Thorpe
  • Lavie Tidhar

This is a fantastic line-up of bloggers and authors and we could not be happier – or more humbled – to be a part of the collection.

[Please excuse us for a brief moment as we COMPLETELY LOSE OUR COOL AND FREAK OUT because we are in a publication alongside the likes of Kate Elliott, N K Jemisin, Liz Bourke, Abigail Nussbaum, Christopher Priest!!!!!!!]

[Ok, moment over]

Announcing SpecFic ’13 Editors

We are delighted to announce that we, your friendly neighborhood Book Smugglers, will be editing the 2013 edition of the collection.

[OK, another brief moment to COMPLETELY LOSE OUR COOL AND FREAK OUT!]

From the official press release:

Landon and Shurin also announced that they will pass the torch in 2013, establishing a precedent of rotating editors every year. The 2013 volume will be edited by Thea James and Ana Grilo of The Book Smugglers. Shurin commented, “We’re excited to see this move forward with Thea and Ana. They have a great perspective on the genre community that’s also very different from our own. 2013 couldn’t be in better hands. I’m really looking forward to working with them as Jurassic London continues to publish the series.”

We are incredibly honored to have been invited by Justin and Jared to take over the mantle of editors for this endeavor. We solemnly swear to approach our 2013 editorial duties with the gravity and dedication that the position demands!

Very soon we will be unveiling or plans for the 2013 collection, including ways in which you can help us scour the Internet for the creme de la creme of Speculative Fiction commentary!

We promise more details to come. Soon. You know, as soon as we recover from the shock.

All proceeds for SpecFiction ’12 will be donated to Room to Read

You Might Also Like


  • Victoria Janssen
    March 21, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    What a great lineup! And congratulations!

  • Kate
    March 21, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Both of these things are exquisitely awesome. HOORAY!

  • Jared
    March 21, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    “with the gravity and dedication that the position demands!”

    It does?

    I mean, it does!

  • Ana
    March 21, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Thank you, all : )

    @Jared: shhhhh we are trying to mantain a modicum of decorum here!

  • Anne M Leone
    March 21, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Congratulations! So excited for you both!

  • Eliza
    March 21, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Woot!!! Popping champagne and pouring it in glasses for Ana and Thea. (I mean why waste a good champagne spraying it?) This is awesome news. I bet you were jumping up and down with excitement and maybe still are, deservedly so. Can’t wait to read SpecFic’12 but looking forward even more to SpecFic’13 with the unique Book Smuggler stamp on it.


  • Hannah
    March 21, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Congratulations! I can’t think of any better people to edit this, and I look forward to reading it

  • Kristen
    March 21, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear more about your plans. 🙂

  • Linda W
    March 21, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Congrats, you guys! So well deserved! I’m so excited for you!

  • olugbemisola
    March 21, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Congratulations! Enjoy.

  • Andrea
    March 22, 2013 at 4:24 am

    Very cool news indeed! And I like the rotation of editors, too – that will add a lot of variety.

  • Justin
    March 22, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Gravity? How big is the 2013 edition going to be? (Physics joke).

  • Iris
    March 22, 2013 at 9:02 am

    Congratulations on both counts! The list of contributors for the 2012 edition looks fabulous. And I cannot wait to see what’d included by you two, and Lady Business, and Foz Meadows, and so many more!

  • hapax
    March 23, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Wowzers! What a line-up!

    A question: I see that Spec Fic 2012 is available for Kindle for free for Prime members. Is that right? I really don’t mind paying for such top-flight authors…

  • Strange Horizons - Speculative Fiction 2012 update
    October 21, 2016 at 12:00 am

    […] Recognising that last fact, the press release linked above notes that this series will have a rotating editorship, which strikes me as a very good thing; and next year’s editors will be Thea James and Ana Grilo, aka the Booksmugglers, who I’m sure will put together a very interesting selection indeed. You can read their own comments on the announcement over here. […]

Leave a Reply